“‘What is the use of a book,’ thought Alice, ‘without pictures or conversations?'” (Carroll 7)

This instance really solidifies Alice’s age for the readers. Children end to ask questions like these that do not make much sense, but yet at the same time are questions that are food for thought.

“In another moment down went Alice after it, never once considering how in the world she was to get out again” (Alice in Wonderland 8).

This instance gave me a view into who the narrator could have possibly have been. By the way the sentence is structured, it provides foreshadow, but fro, the future. So there is a figure in the future that knows Alice thought this. Whether or not this is a future Alice narrating is unknown to me at the moment, but it made me think of the possibility of another character being there.

down

“She took down a jar from one of the shelves as she passed and: it was labeled ‘orange marmalade,’ but to her great disappointment it was empty: she did not like to drop the jar, for fear of killing somebody underneath” (Alice in Wonderland 8).

This scene was humorous in the sense that she was falling, but in that singular moment, all that mattered was the possibility of hurting someone beneath her. Alice’s selflessness could be one of the traits that Carroll always spoke of when referring to his mother. At least, this is the first thing I recalled when reading this sentence.

Also this orange marmalade is from a shop in Oxford dedicated to all things Alice. I am very excited for this because I actually just paid my deposit for the Oxford Study Abroad Program! I will definitely be stopping by this shop during my visit!

marmalade1.jpg

“‘Dinah’ll miss me very much to-night, I should think!'” (Alice in Wonderland 9).

The book dedicated like two sentences to Alice’s sister. Alice spends more time focusing on her cat’s wellbeing rather than anyone else’s. We’ve been discussing power animals, and I’m fairly certain that Dinah and Alice share this bond. Maybe this was also the case between Alice Liddell and her own cat, Dinah.

“… if you drink much from a bottle marked ‘poison,’ it is almost certain to disagree with you, sooner or later” (Alice in Wonderland 11).

I began to notice how Alice uses many understatements and litotes. Perhaps this contributes to the whimsicalness of this book? Either way, it amuses the reader by reading how Alice perceives things initially.

drink_me_bottle_by_push_sama-d3li2v1.png

“‘Oh dear, what nonsense I’m talking!'” (Alice in Wonderland 14).

This sense of self-awareness is also prevalent in these first chapters. There is a mix between accepting her surroundings while at the same time, negating it. She knows something unnatural has occurred and is acknowledging her own realistic feelings as well.

“‘Let me see: four times five is twelve, and four times six is thirteen, and four times seven is – oh dear! … let’s try geography. London is the capital of Paris, and Paris is the capital of Rome, and Rome – no, that’s all wrong” (Alice in Wonderland 16).

The absurdity of this world is surfacing when she says things like this. It gave me a better sense of the nonsensical surroundings.

“‘Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?’ ‘That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,’ said the Cat” (49).

This quote still haunts me from when I first watched it in the Disney movie. I had recalled feeling lost and at a loss, frustrated that there was no linear or concrete direction she was taking. When I was younger, I was raised to never travel alone, and always find my mom without following anyone else out the door. My worst nightmare was getting lost and someone kidnapping me. It sounds silly now to me, but this scene in the movie startled me a lot due to that.

Video: “I just wanted to ask you which way I ought to go” scene from Disney Movie

habit-2-10-728.jpg

Leave a Reply

