“The Bible is probably the most valuable single artifact belonging to The University of Texas System (Gutenberg Bible PDF, 4).”

First off, that it amazing and I’m still in awe that UT has such resources to get its students and pupils such great relics of the past. And I googled the value/how much UT bought the Gutenberg Bible for: $2.4 million. Which is a lot and still has me impressed. What an honor!


“And God called the light Day and the darkness he called Night. And the evening and the morning were the first day (Course Anthology Volume II, 445).”

VS.

“And God said, Let there be Lights in the firmament of the heaven to divide the day from the Night; and let them be for signs, and for seasons, and for days, and for years (Course Anthology Volume II, 445).”

These two days (Day 1 and Day 4) really establish our concept of time. I think it’s interesting that before Day 1, there was only darkness, a void. Much like Chaos in Greek mythology. After that, there was light, and lack thereof, thereby creating Day and Night. The is the initial and most primitive concept of time. Then for Day 4, it involves a more elaboration form of time: seasons, years, weeks, something that can keep track of time. I love the Genesis creation story and find it incredibly fascinating.

inicio.jpg
This is a depiction of Chaos.

“And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that hath life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven (445).”

We too have categories, or dominions, in which animals live. We’ve been constantly trying to categorize animals to this day by where they live and what they’re called. An example of this is the system of binomial nomenclature.


“And God created great whales, and every living creature that moveth, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good (445-446).”

First and foremost:

tumblr_static_aus56kf3eowgsckkkssgw8kow
WHALES.

Second of all (and also the main point of this quote for me): I think it’s really interesting how Genesis states that sea animals were created first, since according to the theory of Evolution, sea creatures were in fact the first living things to, well, live. The concept concentrates around the idea that water is the principal of life, and that when water was finally created on earth, small bacteria emerged and began to evolve, and evolve. Afterwards, animals began to roam the non-marine parts. I really enjoy comparing science to religion, and since I’m a believer of both, I only hope to analyze how they both work together in order to make sense together.


“The same it is that compasseth the whole land of Ethiopia… The fourth river is Euphrates (447).”

Africa, specifically the area below Ethiopia, is the continent where the oldest fossils of man have been located, I just think it’s fascinating to parallel Genesis and Anthropology.


“And the rib, which the Lord God had taken from man, made he a woman, and brought her unto the man. And Adam said, this is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh: she shall be called woman, because she was taken out of man (447).”

This is probably the one of the most controversial statements that the Bible offers. It’s really difficult to talk about for me personally since I am Catholic and believe in the Bible, but it’s often hard to know what that entitles, especially when coming across lines such as these that go against my own moral fibers. It’s been a long time since I’ve had the courage to talk about how I feel about religion and today’s ideologies, but I’m hoping I’ll feel better and more confident in time. But for now, I’ll stick to my blog post and this rabbit hole I’ve been thrown into.

Nevertheless, I will discuss this with how I’ve personally interpreted it: I believe that man and woman are equal in power, but have different unique characteristics that make them different. Equal and unequal, and still such a fascinating paradox. These differences are different (for a lack of a better synonym) because man and woman are two halves of a whole. Eve was born out of Adam’s rib, thereby taking away something more than just a rib from Adam. Adam gave up his rib in order to create a different equal. He needs that rib to survive, and that’s how we balance each other out.

640945f4780a47cfc27e07c1ef10a5c4
Christian perspective on this verse
husband-wife-copy
Islamic perspective on this verse

 


**before citing and making a commentary on Paradise Lost, I just want to point out that this work is basically the first Fanfiction ever created. That is all.**

“And Fruit Tree yielding Fruit after her kind; whose seed is in her self upon the earth. He scarce had said, when the bare earth, till then desert and bare, unsightly, unadorn’d, brought forth the tender grass…that sudden flower’d op’ning their various colors… her bosom smelling sweet: and these scarce blown (467).”

I just wanted to point out how sexual these first lines were to me, with very descriptive visual imagery about fertility.

Leave a Reply

