Essentially, this is a journal/diary entry, and it makes it easier for me to write when I see it as such. My first official week here has been eventful, to say the least. It has certainly been filled with a diverse amount of emotions, but I’ll let y’all be the judges of that!

August 31st: I’ve been taking a PE class. I know it sounds pretty middle/high school-ey, but still, it’s a pretty great class. It’s a Karate and Tae Kwon Do class. So far I am very excited about it. However, just because I was excited, it doesn’t mean I was not ridiculously nervous. I am still releasing my inhibitions so that I could do the moves without feeling self conscious, but I feel that by the end of the semester, I’ll be feeling better physically and emotionally.

September 2nd: I got to Skype my boyfriend for the first time in over a week. We’ve been dating for four consecutive years, but he goes to school in New York City at Fordham University. I was just thankful that I was able to talk to him since I miss him often.

September 4th: I had never been to a college football game before and I felt vibrant as soon as I bought my Big Ticket over the summer, because can you really say that you went to the University of Texas without attending at least one football game? For a first football game, this was invigorating. I was absorbing the emotions and excitement of those around me, especially my loud friends who were teaching me the chants and hand signs. We were also sitting pretty close to where Matthew McConaughey was and he kept making the crowd go wild. With simple hand gestures, he moved an entire crowd. It was amazing.ut

September 6th: Finally, well, I had to deal with my first violence case as a Resident Assistant, and I was shaken up shortly after the events died down and the police handled it. Either way, my boss said we (myself and the other RA on call) handled it very well, but nevertheless, it was perturbing. I was not expecting to get this call so early on this year, but thats one less thing to worry about I suppose.

Leave a Reply

